The Student Room Group

Should I change course at uni?

I've made this anon because I know people on here and don't want them knowing about my situation.

Well, I'm in my first year at a Russell Group uni studying a joint honours in French and Maths. I'm in the middle of my exams atm and they're just not going well. The whole first semester was a struggle. I've really struggled to keep up with the pace at which we are taught at uni and I find the work really challenging. Everyone around me seems to be doing great and I just feel so s*** about myself. I worked so hard to get onto this course and even exceeded my requirements by three grades but now I'm wondering if this is the right course for me. I hate that I'm constantly struggling. I don't want the next four years to be like this. I'm trying to think of other courses I would enjoy but I feel my A Level choices limit me (I did Maths, Physics and French). I know first year doesn't count but I still don't want to do bad this year.

Any advice would be appreciated :frown:
Do you actually want to study a different course at uni? Or are you just feeling the pressure of the exams?
Reply 2
Original post by llamaspoon
Do you actually want to study a different course at uni? Or are you just feeling the pressure of the exams?

It's not just exams because I've felt like this since I started. When applying for uni, I thought this was the perfect course for me but now I just don't know :frown:
Original post by Anonymous
It's not just exams because I've felt like this since I started. When applying for uni, I thought this was the perfect course for me but now I just don't know :frown:

University isn't easy. You're invariably going to struggle (not trying to sound too harsh here). Is it the maths side, or the French side, or both?
Reply 4
Original post by llamaspoon
University isn't easy. You're invariably going to struggle (not trying to sound too harsh here). Is it the maths side, or the French side, or both?