The Student Room Group

Royal Veterinary College-any advice?

I'm looking at unis and I was wondering what people though about the Royal Vet College? From what I've seen it looks good, but does anyone have hands-on experience with it?
Hi

I've moved your thread to the Veterinary Medicine sub-forum, as you're more likely to get useful replies here.
Reply 2
I'm a second year vet student at the RVC if you have any questions 😊

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by beckycat
I'm a second year vet student at the RVC if you have any questions ������

Posted from TSR Mobile

Hi! Thanks! ^^

I checked the website, but just to be sure do you need to have done maths in the sixth form?

Also, so, how much work experience/where did you do to secure a place? ^^ I know the minimum requirements, but they are just the minimum.
Reply 4
Original post by TheHalfCentaur
Hi! Thanks! ^^

I checked the website, but just to be sure do you need to have done maths in the sixth form?

Also, so, how much work experience/where did you do to secure a place? ^^ I know the minimum requirements, but they are just the minimum.

You definitely don't have to do maths, you have to do biology and chemistry but your third subject is up to you. I did physics but know others that did non sciencey subjects like English.

Work experience wise I worked a couple of evenings a week at my local vets for a two ish years before applying, 3 weeks small animal vets, 2 weeks large animal vets, 2 weeks lambing, 2 weeks dairy, 1 week goats, 1 week kennels, 1 week stables, 1 week exotics. I know people in my year with a bit less work experience though. Just try to get as much varied work experience as you can! :smile:
Thank you!

Do you know anything about doing an intercalated year at rvc?
Reply 6
Original post by TheHalfCentaur
Thank you!

Do you know anything about doing an intercalated year at rvc?