The Student Room Group

Do not have anyone to be a guarantor for my student accommodation, what do i do?

Hi, i am in my first year and currently living in halls. I have just been looking at houses with other flatmates and discovered that i will need a guarantor to sign a contract to say they will pay in case i am not able to.

The problem is that my mum is not working as she is on benefits and my dad is divorced and lives and works abroad so he is not eligible either.
I don't really know anybody who works full time or who would agree to sign such a contract. What happens now? What about international students who have no family in the UK, how are they able to rent student houses?

I'm just worried and a bit panicking since all my friends parents work so is fine for them, but is just me who is going to have problems when it comes to signing for a house. Has anybody else been in the same situation?

Scroll to see replies

I would ask your student union - I know at UCL they have a guarantee system to help in some circumstances (including overseas students, as you say) - your Uni might have something similar. Sometimes landlords will do without a guarantor if you can pay rent upfront, but often they want 6 months in advance - if you have a student account offering a generous interest free overdraft that might be an option (depending on your share of the rent). Lots of students are in the same position as you, so don't panic. Sorry I don't have a definitive answer, but if you don't get anything really helpful here, do ask your student union.
My family used my aunt as a guarantor. Any family member - it's not like you won't be able to pay rent, is it?

Also worth looking into uni/SU schemes for this kinda thing - nice post cheshiremum :smile:
Reply 3
Im an international student and usually, the house agents asked me to pay 6 months upfront without a guarantor. That was in coventry by the way.