The Student Room Group

TSR is a forum where males are more vocal, and abuse/sexism/arrogance is rewarded?

What do you think?

I have noticed that responses to most threads, apart from the degree/ offer holder/ job threads, posts start off being quite respectful, sociable and reasonable, and then the same names appear, and give their arrogant, narcissistic, self-centered, 'logical' and judgmental opinions. They are always male, often white, usually heterosexual. It's almost like a mental illness a lot of them have. I say white because most people in UK are white, and most users are from UK, and many of them have photos of themselves. But not always white(!).

I've also noticed that they tend to dominate discussions on TSR. The same few boys/ young men appear everywhere, they are abusive, rude and dismissive and literally have acquired 'legend' status because of it. Does anyone else find this disturbing. I am new to TSR, why is this? Is this a thing you all know about?

Also, I see the word sexist and misandry being used a lot, against the female posters who are brave enough to actually speak. This is something I've not encountered irl and my friendship group is mixed! Who are these boys/men? And why does everyone accept their abuse? I've literally watched threads descend into hatred, female posters being attacked for the views, or male posters saying the same thing, after abusing them, and being congratulated for their insight.

I feel like there's something I'm missing :s-smilie: Is there rule about males/females on here? Why are people so rude here?

I thought about leaving because, was quite shocked, but you can't leave.There is no deactivate button? So would love to hear from people and your views, especially posters that don't usually post at all or feel silenced.

Thanks
(edited 9 years ago)

Scroll to see replies