The Student Room Group

Is this the last Year for AS examinations?

Hey everyone, I'm considering taking up a few A-levels next year (chem + maths) I was wondering if next year I will have any AS examinations as quite a few people I've been talking to, stated AS exams will be scrapped for the 2016 exams.

I had a look on AQA's website and I couldn't figure out much. According to them (if I read correctly, they will still carry on with the current A-level set up until 2017)

If anyone knows any better, please help me out :smile:
A-level Chemistry will change to a 'linear' set up from this September, whereby AS levels will be a stand-alone qualification, as opposed to counting for 50% of the A-level. The A-level will be assessed, in its entirety, at the end of the two years.

You will still be able to take an AS level, but it will have no impact on your final A-level grade. So, in effect, taking an AS level at the end of the first year becomes optional.

Maths is a more complicated issue, mostly owing to the considerable amount of choice in applied maths modules in the current system, so that's staying as it is for another year or two while they work out how to make that work.
Original post by Lolgarithms

You will still be able to take an AS level, but it will have no impact on your final A-level grade. So, in effect, taking an AS level at the end of the first year becomes optional.

So does that mean the sixth form has a choice of whether their students do all exams after 2 years or the standard after first and second year?

5 exams in 1 year per subject sounds like hell! Hopefully most sixth forms will take the logical option.
Original post by yellowcopter
So does that mean the sixth form has a choice of whether their students do all exams after 2 years or the standard after first and second year?

5 exams in 1 year per subject sounds like hell! Hopefully most sixth forms will take the logical option.

There won't be 5 exams in 1 year per subject.