The Student Room Group

lack of radicalness in today's youth

is anyone else absolutely appalled by the tiny level of young people who have interest/knowledge of politics. I find myself bored with the whole new labour-tory circle and the lib dems arent the most exciting alternative and i believe we should have a proportional representational system but most young people don't know what this is or have such conservative views that it doesnt matter. Even those who associate with groups that could be considered punky etc (probably a bad example but the area i live in is quite conservative) may seem anti establishment in their dress sense or music, but when you talk with them are usually either christian or conservatives. Something i look forward to in university, is the hope of meeting people who believe that religion is ridiculous, feminism is important, nationality is irrelevant and can defend their views without getting "offended".

Whenever i've gone to open days (i'm studying history) all the other people sitting in the lecture hall either sit there giggling, texting or asking innane questions

ignoring my views (ie. not an debate thread) do people agree that this generation (perhaps it's the same for all) seem to have lost their radicalness or will my hopes be fulfilled by the existence of lots of conscientious students at university?

Scroll to see replies

So you're basically griping at the fact that students aren't the stereotypical, anti-establishment, anarchic communists you thought they'd be?
Reply 2
well im not at university yet

you dont have be anarchic, communist, anti-establishment to be politically minded (which im sure lots of people on this forum may well be, as they want to let their opinions known) but i mean generally.
ruairí
well im not at university yet