The Student Room Group
Students on campus at the University of Warwick
University of Warwick
Coventry

Warwick vs manchester vs sheffield vs Leeds vs cardiff

So i'm an international student and i want to study management. I've already received an unconditional from sheffield and cardiff. I wanted to know how all the 5 universities rank prestige-wise, city, nightlife, people etc and keep in mind, i could only apply to the management leisure course at manchester which is not business related so I'm really confused. Also, if a universities reputation is better than the other over all but for management it's a little low, does it matter?
warwick #1
Students on campus at the University of Warwick
University of Warwick
Coventry
Reply 2
I would say the best one academically is Warwick, by quite a stretch. However nightlife wise you'd be looking at Leeds/Manchester and maybe Cardiff
Warwick is the most prestigious but if you are a 'city' person then you'll be bored to death.
If the Manchester course doesn't interest you, don't go there.
Sheffield is more of a 'pub' city. Lots of hills. 1/3rd of it is inside a National Park apparently. I've been once and loved it.
Leeds is a very clubby city, as is Cardiff, but Cardiff is prettier IMO. However, Leeds is up north, so everyone there was quite friendly and chatty and such... although tbf the same applies to Cardiff.

The reputation difference between your 5 is so small that I wouldn't lose sleep over it. All are very good universities. I mean, we're not talking Uni of West London vs Glasgow vs Southampton Solent vs Oxford here.
Original post by TheStudentEater
warwick #1

But I'm really afraid of not fitting in with the academically bright people because I'm not that kind! I get good grades but I don't study
Original post by Drossell
I would say the best one academically is Warwick, by quite a stretch. However nightlife wise you'd be looking at Leeds/Manchester and maybe Cardiff