The Student Room Group

Anyone else feel like this?

Most people here posting about hating uni seem to be freshers. Well, I'm in my 4th year of a language degree and I've pretty much hated it here. I didn't realise how unhappy I was until I went on Erasmus. I pretty much have no social life here, I was expecting to meet so many people and go out all the time, well I met a lot of people in Fresher's Week and after that never saw half of them again. The girls in my halls were nice in first year, but they weren't the going out sort. I did have a few friends there who would come to the cinema and for a pizza and stuff, which was OK. After first year it went downhill completely. The people on my course are all unpleasant, unfriendly and stuck up. They just aren't interested in making friends. Most of them live at home, since the uni is in a big city, so they come to a lecture and then go home, and still hang around with their friends from school. I join societies every year, and it's always great the first few weeks then things taper off and there's never anything on. The same happened this year, I was having a great time meeting new people, doing random stuff and it all fizzled out after a week or two. The thing is, I'm not even a clubbing kind of person - I like to go out and do stuff, but just go to the pub for a few drinks and things, and I have no-one to do it with! I get so bored and lonely.

My Erasmus year was great - going out all the time, doing random stuff - it made me realise how rubbish it is here. I just can't seem to make any friends here, I don't know how to meet people!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
That sucks, you're putting the effort in it's not your fault. Which city are you in? Where did you go for Erasmus? Sorry I'm just being nosy...not sure what to do in your situation =(
Reply 2
Anonymous