The Student Room Group
Reply 1
I'm doing it at uni at the moment. I love the subject, I really do. DON'T go into it just for the money. You'll be gone within a year.

What made me want to do it in the first place? I really enjoy analysing serious issues and formulating arguments and opinions. I also think law is a great way to learn about the world in general. Law encompasses many things from politics to history; from philosophy to current affairs.

It's a subject where very often there are no clear-cut answers. It's very complex at times and it takes perseverance to make things 'click'. If you enjoy tackling complex issues, analysing them to form an opinion and then forcefully arguing that opinion, then you will find law very rewarding.

Damn, I should write prospectuses for a living. :wink:
Reply 2
lucaz
hi, just wondering about what A-levels your doing, if your doing a law degree(and where at) and what you find most interesting about law?

I did a law degree with the Open University. I loved some areas and hated others. It's a very expansive subject and few people feel comfortable in every area.
Reply 3
lucaz
hi, just wondering about what A-levels your doing, if your doing a law degree(and where at) and what you find most interesting about law?

Im doing an LLB now - then doing a masters in it afterwards... I love it - its interesting, challenging and embodies the need for reason and values creative thought...

However - be warned - many do not like it, and it continues to have high drop out rates - you WILL have to work hard, and there WILL be times you will hate it ...

But in short - it can be great!
Reply 4
Lawzzzzzz
Im doing an LLB now - then doing a masters in it afterwards... I love it - its interesting, challenging and embodies the need for reason and values creative thought...

However - be warned - many do not like it, and it continues to have high drop out rates - you WILL have to work hard, and there WILL be times you will hate it ...