The Student Room Group

Mature students Veterinary Medicine

Hello!

I am thinking of changing my career and going back to uni to become a vet. I currently work in marketing (graduated 2013) and now know the business and office life is not for me. I always wanted to be a vet and have had horses and lots of animals growing up.

I will need to do an access course (no science Alevels) and then the 5 year undergrad course. I know I am signing up for lots of hard work (and a big bill at the end of it all!!)

I would be set to qualify just short of my 30th birthday in 6 years time. I wanted to see if there are any other mature students who are in a similar position to me? Be great to chat to those taking the same massive career jump!

Also any advice on best access course would be super..

:smile:
Hi

I am vet, was a mature student, started when I was 30, so I can understand where you're coming from! (But I studied abroad so can't help you with the access course, A levels stuff!)

You would be better off posting this in the VetMed forum as everyone there has lots of experience of applying to the UK vet schools, as well as the English-speaking vet schools abroad. There are also plenty of graduates and you most definitely will not be the oldest student!

One thing I do know is that not every vet school accepts access courses in place of A levels, so contact them before you start and ask them to make sure.
Do you know that you need at least 10 weeks of work experience? And in a variety of places: small animal, farm vet, equine vet/stables, possibly lab and abattoir. I assume you're working full-time now, so that's going to be quite difficult to arrange.