The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

Durham affordability?

Hello all,

I am a potential Durham student who received an offer from the university a few days ago, and naturally I was thrilled. I have been dreaming of going there for the last couple of years, and I still feel shocked that I've got an offer. I really didn't expect it! It's like walking on sunshine.

But the main thing that is completely putting me off 'firming' Durham is how unaffordable the university seems to be. My parents' annual household income is £31k, which means I get just under £7k in loans and grants, however I have been working an awful lot at a part-time job to help support myself at university, which pushes this household income up to around £34.5k/annum (excluding my overtime), which means I receive even less in loans/grants.

Looking at the prices of colleges, the cheapest (which I naturally applied for) is Josephine Butler, however there is of course the possibility that I will be pooled to another college and will have to fork out £6/7k/annum instead. Even if I do get into JB, I will have less than £2k left of my loans/grants to support myself for the whole year.