The Student Room Group

Additional Maths FSMQ

Hi, I completed my GCSE Maths in Year 10 and achieved an A*, so I am currently studying Additional Maths as a FSMQ. I was just wondering how do universities regard this qualification and will it help me when studying A-Level Maths?

Scroll to see replies

Original post by Laurenxxx
Hi, I completed my GCSE Maths in Year 10 and achieved an A*, so I am currently studying Additional Maths as a FSMQ. I was just wondering how do universities regard this qualification and will it help me when studying A-Level Maths?

Universities will be pleased that you are continuing to study useful maths

It will support your A level studies
Reply 2
Original post by TenOfThem
Universities will be pleased that you are continuing to study useful maths

It will support your A level studies

total agreement (just too late to comment)
Also, it gives UCAS points when you get a high grade in the fmsq this helps too!

Posted from TSR Mobile

FSMQ covers almost all of edexcel C1 and C2
Reply 5
Original post by Chittesh14
Also, it gives UCAS points when you get a high grade in the fmsq this helps too!

Posted from TSR Mobile

Wow, didn't know about this, thanks!!

Original post by Random1357
FSMQ covers almost all of edexcel C1 and C2

That can't be bad thing! Thank you:smile:
Reply 6

I did this last year, It gives you 20 UCAS points if you get an A, and its basically C1 and some C2 at Alevel, so you'll get a head start.
Original post by NabeelM
I did this last year, It gives you 20 UCAS points if you get an A, and its basically C1 and some C2 at Alevel, so you'll get a head start.

Yep that's absolutely right, I've done my research already :wink:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Wow, didn't know about this, thanks!!

That can't be bad thing! Thank you:smile:

Congratulations on the A*, I'm doing It this year in year 10 too, need your luck!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 9
Congratulations on the A*, I'm doing It this year in year 10 too, need your luck!