The Student Room Group

Open University credits transfer

Hi, does anyone know where there is a list of universities that will accept OU credits, assuming this even exists. I want to study history full time and I currently have 60 credits with the OU and iam doing another 60 right now. Any help appreciated. Thank guys.
Original post by james_stone
Hi, does anyone know where there is a list of universities that will accept OU credits, assuming this even exists. I want to study history full time and I currently have 60 credits with the OU and iam doing another 60 right now. Any help appreciated. Thank guys.

I'm afraid there is no list. You need to contact the universities you're interested in and ask them directly.

Most universities are likely to accept OU credits if they're in relevant subjects.
Reply 2
Thanks for the reply. I guess I will have to start emailing the relevant places.
I am studying with the open university (History). (I have completed Cert of HE) and I am on level 2 at moment with the OU. I have four offers (three offers are unconditional) and I am still waiting to hear from my fifth choice. However, each university looks at your open university modules and see if they match their history program. So they will expect you to start at year one.

Contact the University each one is different and most welcome mature students without the traditional qualifications. (I have A levels and an access course but got told they were too old)

Good luck!
If you have only done level 1 modules, most universities will expect you to start from the first year. I don't know of any university outside Scotland that is prepared to accept first-year OU students for transfer into the second year. But as others have said, you will have to research and phone around - you never know, there might be one, but don't get your hopes up. Are you prepared to redo the first year at a brick university?

Original post by PQ