The Student Room Group

old law students

hi i was just wondering to all the people that have started law on average how much does it cost to buy all your text books? per year? how many text books on average do you have per year? is it quite easy to buy old text books? or do you need the "new edition" after each year? many thanks in advance and sorry if they seem really silly questions was just wondering for next year

Scroll to see replies

I bought about 10 or 11 textbooks in my first year and 4 statute books and the average price is between 30-60 pounds, (statute books are cheaper, about 15 pound each) it's not absolutely essential to buy a load of textbooks as long as you make the most of the library but it's always useful to have your own copies especially of the key recommended texts. I'm in my 2nd year now and so far I've bought 3 textbooks and 2 statue books although there is a few more that I want to invest in, just can't afford them right now.
As for buying old books, I know that Blackwells sell 2nd hand law books at a cheaper price but really, the more up to date a book is, the better it will be for you as even the most up to date books are out of date before long due to the ever changing nature of law. Some books have companion websites though i.e. you can go online and there will be updated information that you can download, that isn't featured in the book.
Reply 3
Most statute books go out of date in a year or two but you need them for the exams, depending on the course. Textbooks usually have a shelf life of a couple of years more than that but fast-moving areas of law might be less. Blackwells sell second hand books, most Law Societies arrange a book fair and students sell them independently though posters on notice boards, etc. Speak to 2nd & 3rd years to find out whether that core text the lecturer demands you buy is really necessary, but take with a pinch of salt if they're trying to sell their old copy to you!
Reply 4