The Student Room Group

American student for masters in policy - please help!!

Hey guys,

I'm an American student currently holding a conditional offer for UCL (it's almost impossible for me not to fulfill the condition.) I'm waiting on Political economy from LSE and MPA from LSE as well as MPP from Oxford. However, I'm not confident in LSE and Oxford is most likely too expensive, even if I were to receive an offer.

I'm also currently considering applying to Edinburgh, which has a mandatory work aspect rather than a dissertation, which i'm not fond of being that i'm only 21 and have no experience in the policy world since I had to work to afford college in the states.

For me the hierarchy is LSE>Oxford>UCL=Edinburgh.

They are all fantastic schools, but reputation in the States counts a lot and that reputation goes Oxford>LSE>Edinburgh>UCL.

I was wondering if anyone could comment on how likely it would be to secure employment from UCL rather than Edinburgh if I would come out of UCL with no work experience, but Edinburgh with some.

All thoughts are welcome and appreciated! Thank you in advance!
Reply 1
The experience of the mandatory work aspect from Edinburgh could get you ahead and will give you experience.

Aside from that I think it is an issue of what is most affordable. Also take into consideration that living costs in London with UCL and LSE will be higher than in Oxford or Edinburgh, although they all pricey places. Best of luck.
Reply 2
Original post by Swanbow
The experience of the mandatory work aspect from Edinburgh could get you ahead and will give you experience.

Aside from that I think it is an issue of what is most affordable. Also take into consideration that living costs in London with UCL and LSE will be higher than in Oxford or Edinburgh, although they all pricey places. Best of luck.

I'd have no problem paying for the money for LSE.. a bit worried about paying that for UCL, and it'll be roughly the same at Edinburgh as UCL.