The Student Room Group

Law Dissertation: To do or not to do

Hey guys,

I'm in my second year of law and currently deciding if I should a dissertation in my third year.

Any advice from those of you who have already done one, are in the midst of one or are in the same position as I am?

Reasons to do or not to do are very welcome.

Thank you! :smile:
Did one as part of an elective module; I enjoyed it, it's the only time in UG that you get to look at anything in that much depth. Shows research skills, can be a talking point in interviews. If you're considering a masters - v useful as you will most likely have to write a dissertation and previous experience of writing longer essays will be helpful.

Besides the reasons for why you might want to do it --- if you're a coursework person rather than an exam person, it's a no brainer. I'm an exam person and my dissertation was my weakest mark in anything in final year - but I didn't regret doing it because I loved the module and it was a good learning curve for my LLM.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Original post by LauraAsh
Hey guys,

I'm in my second year of law and currently deciding if I should a dissertation in my third year.

Any advice from those of you who have already done one, are in the midst of one or are in the same position as I am?

Reasons to do or not to do are very welcome.

Thank you! :smile:

Totally agree with what above poster has said. I did a dissertation in my final year and a small part of it has developed into my PhD thesis a few years later. So if you are considering postgrad study I think it is a very good option. If considering other paths it is very good for evidencing your ability to work independently, be self motivated and self disciplined.