The Student Room Group

A2 OCR english literature exam -11 June 2015

Hey guys, surprised there wasn't a thread for this year up yet! Whats everyone's exam texts? ~I'm studying The Wife of Bath/The Rivals and King Lear :biggrin:

Scroll to see replies

Original post by Marmite97
Hey guys, surprised there wasn't a thread for this year up yet! Whats everyone's exam texts? ~I'm studying The Wife of Bath/The Rivals and King Lear :biggrin:

Heya, I'm going to put this in the English exams forum for you :h:
Hey!

I'm also studying King Lear with The Wife of Bath/The Rivals :smile:
Hi I'm studying the Wife of Bath/The rivals and a midsummer night's dream :smile: how are you finding the texts?
Reply 4
Original post by Luna_Gander
Hi I'm studying the Wife of Bath/The rivals and a midsummer night's dream :smile: how are you finding the texts?

we haven't finished reading any of the texts so a bit freaked out tbh, but the comparison is so hard! Struggling to find points to compare other than love/marriage/stereotypes ... :s-smilie:
I'm studying King Lear, Songs of Innocence and Experience and Tis Pity.
Original post by Marmite97
we haven't finished reading any of the texts so a bit freaked out tbh, but the comparison is so hard! Struggling to find points to compare other than love/marriage/stereotypes ... :s-smilie:

I think one of the key comparisons to make between The Wife of Bath/The Rivals (as well as love/marriage/relationships) is the humour through the language both authors use - especially with the women (WoB misquoting Bible and Mrs Malaprops 'malapropisms') - it seems like the authors are making quite the social comment about the education of women at the time!
Anyone have any predications for King LEar?
Reply 8
Interesting point came up today when we were talking about King Lear so thought I'd share it :smile: ~~~ Can Lear be considered the main character?