The Student Room Group

Is my boyfriend rude or am I just really dumb/annoying?

Been together a few years now, and this has only really manifested itself since we began living together in 2013. (When we first got together he used to remark on how he found me smart, hardworking etc.)

I hold a degree from a high-ranking university, speak another language very well and am in the teaching industry, so I had thought that I was of at least reasonable intelligence, but it's since i've been with him that I have never felt so dumb.

He will tell me every day at least once that I am. I suppose I am quite clumsy sometimes, in the way of spilling things,and a little 'slow' in the way of having a bit of a bad memory, not quite getting jokes at first, not quite understanding stuff, etc. He will say stuff like, you're so dumb it's unreal/I've never met someone as stupid as you/You're 24 years old and you don't know how to do that/You're like a 6 year-old/You cannot do anything, it's crazy. Stuff like that.

He knows I don't like it, and when I've gotten upset over it in the past he just tells me to 'stop doing stupid things then' and that it's true, so now when it happens, I just say nothing.

He is also incredibly patronising and he is younger than me. He acts as if I do stuff wrong every day but I don't.If he is cooking a meal, he will insist I help him, which I always offer to do anyway.

However, the other day, I was cooking, and he just came in and started complaining why I was using this spoon and not the proper one, why I was cutting the onion like this etc. and then he told me my meal was disgusting and covered it in sauce, after i'd spent an hour making it.

He will speak when he wants during a programme, but sometimes if I speak he will shush me, because I said one thing. His sister came recently and was laughing loud and talking during shows but he never shushed her.