The Student Room Group

Drinking vodka every morning before work

I've been drinking every single morning before work for 3 months since I started my new job. Every morning I drink 8 shots of vodka mixed with diet coke. I've suffered with SA for the past 7 years or so but have never sought help.

I had to relocate 60 miles from home for this job, and I don't drive so I'm having to house share with strangers and that is really stressful. At the moment I'm doing 'class room' based training before actually starting in my role. Being in the class room is exonerating my anxiety to the max. Everyone else contributes and speaks out and I'm the odd one out and my awkwardness is incredibly obvious and it makes me feel like crap. Everyone thinks I'm a bit weird, and a lot of them tend to get very quiet around me.

My anxiety in this job has got so bad that I'm even drinking now on my lunch break. I spend my entire lunch break in the toilet so I can drink more in order to numb my nerves. I needed the toilet at one point while in the class room and I was too embarrassed to ask to go in front of everyone and so actually ended up urinating myself on my seat.

Now one of my trainers has noticed my behaviour. When I returned from my toilet after lunch, she singled me out and got me to come into a room with her. She told me she knows that I've been spending a lot of time in the toilet and wanted to see if everything was OK, I was humiliated. And closed up and told her everything was fine. The way she said it was patronizing and I felt very uncomfortable. And that has made things worse for me.