The Student Room Group

Moving out

I'm planning on moving out of my parents' house in the next month (renting a flat on my own) or so and am looking for first-hand experiences/answers to the following:

How long did it take to secure the property (from initial research to actually moving in)?

If you moved to another city/town, did you secure the property first or a new job?*

Roughly how much did you spend in your first month (moving out costs, transport, initial rent/admin fees, etc.)?

What percentage of your monthly salary goes on rent?

Does the letting agent give you all the information needed to set up utilities (if not, where did you get your information)? Were these already included?

Are there any useful websites/resources that you would recommend?

This is my first time apart from university, so I don't really know what I'm doing...

*I've been reading a lot of conflicting advice about this. I presume I'll be able to secure a job faster than I can secure a flat, so I'm leaning towards getting a flat first.
(edited 9 years ago)
Original post by saywhatm8
I'm planning on moving out of my parents' house in the next month (renting a flat on my own) or so and am looking for first-hand experiences/answers to the following:

How long did it take to secure the property (from initial research to actually moving in)?

If you moved to another city/town, did you secure the property first or a new job?*

Roughly how much did you spend in your first month (moving out costs, transport, initial rent/admin fees, etc.)?

What percentage of your monthly salary goes on rent?

Does the letting agent give you all the information needed to set up utilities (if not, where did you get your information)? Were these already included?

Are there any useful websites/resources that you would recommend?

This is my first time apart from university, so I don't really know what I'm doing...