The Student Room Group

Should I drop out of uni? Am I being stupid?

Right so I was put in the quietest halls at my uni, and me and my flat mates really don't on. Like some are okay, some I hate, but that's it. We never speak and they all have pretty demanding courses so have friends in their classes. I'm in my first year and I've been out probably less than 5 times, and I've only been out with people I already knew that were already at the uni in other years. Next year I am living with an older girl from my corridor because we kinda get on, but she is in her third year next year so will be leaving - and then in my third year I'll be on my own again.

Also, my course is mainly individual study so I have literally no uni hours, and I have no friends on my course at all. I feel like everyone sits in little groups and then I'm just sat there alone. Im actually crapping myself for any group projects because I am screwed - I am actually considering picking my next year modules on which ones dont have any group work. The people on my course all go out with their flat mates so they dont need course friends, especially when we have an hour a day at most.

On top of that I feel like I've really ****ed up my course. I scraped 50% in the first semester but I failed a few exams which I'll have to resit and I'm not doing much better this semester. I know its my own fault because I haven't done the work, but I don't know if its because I hate work, or my course lol... I know I'm going to **** up this semester 2 because it's nearly near the end and I'm struggling.. I know first year doesn't count and all that but I really wanted to do well to apply for internships and stuff. I also kinda know what I want to do in life, and I didn't pick that as my degree, I can do it as a PG masters, so I can do that. But I feel like I should have done it as an UG course - don't think I would have got onto it anyway though.