The Student Room Group

Finish University last year can't find any jobs

I finish university last year in BEng Electrical and Electronic Engineering
with first class, I applied to so many places (more then 200 places) and I did not
get any job. I worked as a Hardware Engineering for a company for 2 months after my university. Now, I give up and I have depression, what should I do?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I want to be an engineer but it seems to be such a bad route to go down :confused:

My advice will be keep your head high because a degree is not something everyone has..
Sounds like you're lacking either a rounded CV or interview skills. Maybe try learning a language as in my experience that gives a huge advantage when looking for jobs, do some voluntary work so you don't have a big gap in your CV, and get some interview practice in.
Reply 3
Original post by NicolasAtwood
I finish university last year in BEng Electrical and Electronic Engineering
with first class, I applied to so many places (more then 200 places) and I did not
get any job. I worked as a Hardware Engineering for a company for 2 months after my university. Now, I give up and I have depression, what should I do?

Out of the ones you applied to did you make it to interviews and/or assessment centres?

It seems experience isn't your problem since you say you've worked as a hardware engineer for a company already?
Where are you from? Your grammar sounds as though English isn't your first language. Are your language skills letting you down if you're applying for jobs in the UK?
How come your job only lasted 2 months?
Reply 6
Original post by PineapplePol
Where are you from? Your grammar sounds as though English isn't your first language. Are your language skills letting you down if you're applying for jobs in the UK?