The Student Room Group

Considering Biomedical Science or Pharmacology, few questions

Hi! I'm 18 and I've just applied for the A levels Biology, Geography, Psychology and English. I wanted to take Chemistry but as of this moment I don't know if I'm going to be allowed in due to other reasons related to GCSE. Time will tell.

I've been looking up Biomed/Pharma courses from all sorts of different unis and they all look fascinating and really look like the career path I want to ensue. For a long time I've researched and self taught biology, pharmacology and some neuroscience, to a degree. And I'm quite the procrastinator so it seems strange to me but I truly thoroughly enjoy it.

As for not being able to do chemistry, its a long story with problems to do with family, high school and others which ultimately led to some bad grades. I'm hoping not taking chemistry won't be too much of a bother for my choices (although it looks like it will be :s-smilie:)!

However I'm trying to patch out the Chem for now by doing some field work and volunteering. For instance, I'm soon to be volunteering at a hospital and have my interview in 10 days, I'm also considering doing a premed for 1 week in the near future.

Enough about me now though. I have some questions about these courses as I'm not 100% on everything and I'd like some peoples opinions on either my situation, the courses or both.

The current questions are as follows:

How competitive are these courses?

What are the average minimum grades for these courses?

What jobs do these courses open up to me?

If I complete these courses, and decided I wanted to go further down the line E.G Medicine or Dentistry, would they even consider a Biomed or Pharma degree for a postgraduate Medical course? If so, how competitive is it?

Thank you ! :smile: