The Student Room Group

Family says I'm worthless and stupid because of my degree subject

Anon because I'm using a friend's account.
TL;DR my family belittles my achievements, marginalises me and tells me I'm worthless because of my degree subject.

Basically, up until A Level I was never particularly academically able, but I worked my ass off to get where I am today, got A*AA in English Lit, History and Politics. In my second year of A Level I started self-teaching A Level Maths, and got an A. I did this because I decided that once I graduated I wish to pursue a career in accountancy. I managed to get some good offers and am now studying for a joint honours BA in Economics and Politics at a redbrick university. My GCSEs were terrible b/c I got severely bullied at high school, and I managed to turn my life around at sixth form where I made new friends. I do lots of extracurriculars and have managed to secure a finance placement year with an engineering company which should (all being well) see me through to a graduate scheme where I'll study CIMA/ACCA, qualify, and live happily ever after (so to speak!).