The Student Room Group

Questions about a Bachelor of PPE

I'm a sixth form student from Australia and I am thinking about studying a Bachelor of PPE at an Australian university. However the Bachelor of PPE is mostly unknown in Australia since only 2 universities offer the course. I decided to ask my questions here instead since I know many people on TSR are familiar with the Bachelor of PPE!

1. What are some high paying jobs (earning six figures, millions, etc) that can be done by a Bachelor of PPE graduate?

2. What should I be good at if I want to succeed in a Bachelor of PPE?

3. What type of people are best suited for the Bachelor of PPE?

4. The Bachelor of PPE seems to have everything I love in it but I'm also interested in a Bachelor of Economics. If I had to choose one or the other, which should I choose and why?
Reply 1
Original post by AsherA

Hi, I will be a prospective PPE undergrad this year, and I hope my answers help. Though I'll be doing it at Oxford, I'll tailor my answers so it gears towards a PPE degree at other UK unis (e.g. York, Durham...)

1. What are some high paying jobs (earning six figures, millions, etc) that can be done by a Bachelor of PPE graduate?

Finance sector related jobs, esp Investment Banking.

2. What should I be good at if I want to succeed in a Bachelor of PPE?

A good grounding in Maths should help, alongside a good grasp of fundamental economic principles. Wider philosophical reading and familiarity with common topics such as epistemology, ethics, metaphysics would be good.

3. What type of people are best suited for the Bachelor of PPE?

The above, plus an interest and aptitude in the 3 branches

4. The Bachelor of PPE seems to have everything I love in it but I'm also interested in a Bachelor of Economics. If I had to choose one or the other, which should I choose and why?

Hahah though it would be cool, I can't read your mind- this is something you have to discover for yourself.

xx
Reply 2
Original post by milkman94