The Student Room Group

Solicitors, Trainees, Recruiters, Final year law students.....Help!!!!!!

Hey guys,

I am finishing my final year of LLB law degree and I have not secured a vacation scheme or training contract yet. Mainly because of my first year grades which reflects to main law firms that I am inconsistent (According to their feedback).

My second year grades are good and now I am aiming for 1st in my final year. Also I am studying in a non-russell group university which to be honest from what I heard first hand from certain partners the law firms judge you by where you went and what did you get for your degree.

I have applied for LPC but I am not sure whether is it worth it anymore since I still haven't secured a training contract yet.

I don't know whether to apply for any training contract since I haven't done any vacation scheme with law firm yet.

Guys, I need your honest advice as to what to do. Please help! :frown:
Apply for vac schemes.

Then apply for TCs, worst case scenario they reject you and you're still in the same position.

If nothing comes of that I'd recommend trying paralegal work. You might only get in house/project roles at first, but it's a stepping stone.
Are you saying you have no legal experience at all? If that is the case and you are serious about it all, then you need to get some! This will help you get a VS, which will help you get a TC.

If you need a firm to pay for your LPC, then you probably do need to get TCs from VS. If you don't need a firm to pay for your LPC, then you can get to a TC without having to do any VS. But you do need commitment, you need to be good, you need to do good apps, you need to be good in IV and have a bit of luck but you definitely need to have legal work experience, in whatever form, to show the commitment to law and to make your CV impressive.

Basically, just keep on going with it all

Original post by NotYourMom
Hey guys,