The Student Room Group

Period of f(θ) = cos 3θ

Hello,

I wonder if anyone can help me make sense of the attached passage which is from the book Engineering Mathematics, by K.A. Stroud.

To begin with, when he writes "Here we see that, for example..." and so on - what is his reasoning here?

Thank you in advance!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by TanPiPerTwo
Hello,

I wonder if anyone can help me make sense of the attached passage which is from the book Engineering Mathematics, by K.A. Stroud.

To begin with, when he writes "Here we see that, for example..." and so on - what is his reasoning here?

Thank you in advance!

period = 2pi/n always
Reply 2
Thanks! That is true but I am trying to understand his reasoning - but cannot follow...
Reply 3
I am not an expert I just do Mathematics A2 for further maths AS

But when you have the graph sin(theta) it's period is 2Pi in radians the amount of time it takes to make one sinusoidal wave. This means that when you calculate (theta) your answers will be 0,2Pi, 4Pi, 6Pi etc...

But when you have the graph sin(4 theta) it's period is a scale factor of 1/4 the original sin wave. (even I don't quite think that is a good explanation)

So here is some maths :smile:

When you have sin(theta) to find theta you use the sin^-1 function on the calculator for sin(theta) = 0 it would give you 0, 2Pi, 4Pi

For sin(4 theta) you use the sin^-1 function on the calculator for sin(4 theta) = 0 would give you 0, 2Pi, 4Pi but as the answer for 4 (theta) so all your value then have to be divided by 4 to get the period for 4 (theta)

This is just a C3 and C4 student saying this. The only experience I have is alot of trigonometry work so not sure how much help I am but I tried.
Reply 4
Thanks! That is true but I am trying to understand his reasoning - but cannot follow...

it is do do with the transformation f(ax)

f(2x) stretches horizontally by 1/2, so there are 2 cycles from 0 to 2pi, so period = 2pi/2