The Student Room Group

Help!: UCL or Exeter for Geography bsc?

I'm really stuck with choosing a firm, it's getting close to the deadline and I still don't know and i'm starting to panic :frown:

UCL is much higher up in the world rankings, but I feel like I wouldn't like London, coming from such a small town and wanting a campus uni, but the modules are good. Also they seem much less flexible transferring between courses, like the study abroad or moving to the BA.

Exeter doesn't really have much emphasis on climate science or weather, which is what i'm interested in ( although this could change?) but has coding integrated into the course, which I really like. It's also slightly closer to home.

Another option would be Nottingham, but i'm likely to put it as an insurance instead (or possibly Birmingham)

Any help would be appreciated so so much, thanks!
Reply 1
I currently live in Exeter and im studying Geography at college so I may be able to help a bit. Exeters geography course is apparently really good, and at college ive had sample lessons from the lectures and they seem to teach really well. Exeter as a city is OK but the nightlife is pretty boring imo. Any q's on exeter as a city that you have then im happy to help.
Original post by OllieeH
I currently live in Exeter and im studying Geography at college so I may be able to help a bit. Exeters geography course is apparently really good, and at college ive had sample lessons from the lectures and they seem to teach really well. Exeter as a city is OK but the nightlife is pretty boring imo. Any q's on exeter as a city that you have then im happy to help.

Thanks of answering! Do people often visit other cities for nightlife / shopping, and are they a long way away? also, how is the weather in exeter generally speaking?
Reply 3