The Student Room Group

Mathematics Degree

How bright is the future for someone with a 1st class degree in Mathematics?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
without personality, without work experience, very bleak

with personality, with work experience, and with a bit of luck, amazing, so long as the degree is not from a Mickey Mouse University.
(edited 7 years ago)
Which uni?
And if you've just graduated, if you have the work ethic and sociable personality then nearly any graduate job is within your reach
Reply 3
what would you class as a mickey mouse university?and i have no work experience

Original post by TeeEm
without personality, without work experience, very bleak

with personality, with work experience, and with a bit of luck, amazing, so long as the degree is not from a Mickey Mouse University.
Reply 4
why is personality so important?

Original post by Kyou
Which uni?
And if you've just graduated, if you have the work ethic and sociable personality then nearly any graduate job is within your reach
Reply 5
I do not wish to offend but most (and not all) Non Russell Group Universities are not great
(edited 7 years ago)
Reply 6
i go to a russell group university but isn't their a standard of teaching that all universities must abide by? I'm sure if anyone got a 1st class in a STEM degree then where from isn't such a big concern?
Original post by TeeEm
I do not wish to offend but most (and not all) Non Russell Group Universities are not great
Reply 7
Standards sadly are not the same as Universities are nothing but businesses competing for students. Being Autonomous they often exploit loopholes in teaching but mainly not being entirely honest in the assessing of exams (Personal Opinion)
(edited 7 years ago)
Reply 8
is there any proof behind this or is this a theory? because at the end of the day it is still legitimate lecturers who assess the students.. right?

Original post by TeeEm