The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Half of the historian's craft is just research: knowing how and where to find information, and what to do with it when you do find it. Studying history teaches you (or should) about treating sources critically, boiling masses of evidence down to key points and constructing an argument on the basis thereof. Those are skills that are useful in a great many walks of life.

I had no idea what I wanted to do with my history degree when I started university, and I didn't really form any ideas until my third year, at which point I decided I wanted to continue studying in more depth. So I did a masters ... and five years later ended up with a PhD and working as a postdoctoral fellow. I've ended up making an academic career out of history, but other people I studied with at undergrad and MA level have gone into all sorts of fields - journalism, accountancy, heritage management ... In the end, it's up to you what you make of it.
To be honest, I'm really not bothered. It annoys me when people say, "Oh, so what job do you want to do with that?". University, in my mind, isn't a place to be molded into a specific job role - I just wanted to pick what I was most interested in. A degree is still a degree, and I know it'll help me get a good job whatever I decide to do.

But since you asked, at the moment I think I'm most likely to go into teacher training and be a primary school teacher. But I'm only 19, so who knows!
Personally, and ideally, I would love to go into academia. It is dependant on a lot of factors, though, like how I do in my Finals which could well influence how I get funding. Other than that, possibly a teacher (secondary school or preferably sixth form college History).
Reply 4
Journalism.
Either academia or government.

Or be like Mr. Wilson and do both.

edit: Now I've decided to go to culinary school in New York upon completion of my History B.A.
Reply 6