The Student Room Group
Students at University of Huddersfield
University of Huddersfield
Huddersfield
Visit website

The Huddersfield social room thread - Are you a fresher starting in September?

Hi guys. If all goes well I'm hoping to be a student at Huddersfield in September, and like most new starters I am going to be moving to a new area, leaving friends and family behind.

I thought it might be a good idea to start a little chat room type thread, as a platform to network with other freshers, where you can hopefully find a few like minded students, and maybe make a few friends before starting in September.
(edited 8 years ago)
Ok I'll go first, I am a mature student (32), hoping to start an exercise science degree at Huddersfield in September (Conditional offer, though I shouldn't fail to meet the condition).

I am a bit of a fitness nut, after a recent redundancy I decided to go back to college to try and turn my hobby into a career, and last year I qualified as a Fitness Instructor.

I am currently completing a second year at college to qualify as a Personal Trainer, and it has been one of the best decisions of my life. Despite going from full time to part time work, and being more broke than I have ever been in my life, I have really enjoyed being back in education, so much so that I thought I would take the plunge and apply to university (Would have been unthinkable two years ago), and so here I am, I think I must be the only person in the world who can look back and be thankful about getting laid off.

Outside of my studies, I am a total geek, with a love for Sci-fi and fantasy (Books/games/film/tv) my unwatched Netflix watchlist could probabally keep me going for the next 10 years!

A couple of interesting facts, I was a former patient of the infamous Harold Shipman, and I have just had my most recent plaster cast removed from my foot (My 7th broken bone to date), they don't call me Mr Bump for nothing!