The Student Room Group

Edexcel AS maths - help!!

So I'm currently studying for my AS exams, which as I'm sure you're all aware are starting in around a weeks time! :eek: I'm looking more for some last minute advice.

I definitely put the most work into maths out of all of my subjects, and I feel like I'm nowhere near where I want to be. My most recent mock grades are:

Core 1 (2 months ago) - solid C
Core 2 (this week) - high C
Statistics - D

Those grades seem pretty low, and risky in terms of passing maths for me and I just wondered if there's even enough time, what I can do to improve. It's not even as if I don't understand things, for example in class I feel quite secure when we're taught new topics and do fine in the majority of the homework. I'm putting in a decent amount of work, so it's not as If I'm not working hard. I mostly use exam solutions to work topic by topic and use past papers, which I think are massively easier compared to the 2014 papers! I just don't feel prepared because the most recent questions, from last year I struggled with. Should I be working with the questions in the book, or using solomon papers or what?! I'm starting to really stress about it :frown:

Time is a push so I need some advice, at the moment I'm just feeling really unprepared and like the work I'm putting in is being wasted.

Thanks in advance for any replies. :smile:
Original post by meloj
:smile:

Don't worry about the 2014 papers too much. I sat a fair few of them (including C2 but not S1 or C1) and the ones I did were notably more difficult than past papers, and I suppose that includes S1 and C1. In a way it's good because you know kind of what to expect for this year's exams. I can only guess that it will be of a similar difficulty to last year's ones - if it's a lot harder than that I suspect it will just be too difficult for the majority of people.