The Student Room Group

Jobs with a music technology degree?

First time posting so sorry if there is mistakes

Finishing the first year of my two year music technology course at college and i was wondering..where do I when I finish? I'm the sort of person where I have my mind set of something and I do it! But I really do not have a clue.

Do I got to university or a job or an apprenticeship? Please help me out

Thanks

Posted from TSR Mobile
Hey Ashley!

I remember it being a difficult decision after BTEC to decide what to do and where to go. I studied Music Tech too and after talking to my family and friends, it seemed that uni was the right direction to go in. I guess it all depends on what you want to do career wise, I'm a singer songwriter and I wanted to learn how to produce my own music and gain some skills in that area. So for me, going to uni helped me to really develop those skills and gain some contacts in the industry.

Some people might say that uni doesn't help producers/sound engineers but in my experience, I've been given jobs purely based on the fact that I have degree. I'm not saying that will be the case for every job, but it certainly helps. Studying also gives you that experience of working under pressure and helps to prepare you for "life in the real world".

If you've got any specific questions about my experience, feel free to ask me! :-)

Best Wishes
Jemma
Reply 2
I've been reading articles on how university is and how it goes and everybody loves the experience of getting some part time work and getting an apartment somewhere and seeing whats it's like be a "grown up" for once. Do you like it? What should I expect when I go? Because at the moment, going to university is my first option because I can say I have a degree In something :biggrin:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Hey Ashley