The Student Room Group

Getting into medical school

Hey guys,

I am currently studying a level Bio, Chem, Maths and Geography. I am interested in studying medicine for Uni but I have Bad grades for GCSE (3 A's, 7 B's and 2 C's) but I changed and am working really hard. Will be I able to get into a medical schools if I get 3 A*s (Bio, Chem and maths) and an a in a levels with my bad GCSE's or should I just not even bother applying because I will definitely get rejected?
Original post by Imsad:(
Hey guys,

I am currently studying a level Bio, Chem, Maths and Geography. I am interested in studying medicine for Uni but I have Bad grades for GCSE (3 A's, 7 B's and 2 C's) but I changed and am working really hard. Will be I able to get into a medical schools if I get 3 A*s (Bio, Chem and maths) and an a in a levels with my bad GCSE's or should I just not even bother applying because I will definitely get rejected?

As long as you've got your B grade in GCSE maths and English language you'll be fine. Just don't apply to GCSE heavy unis like bristol or birmingham. Go for the ones who don't look at GCSE e.g. Newcastle and Barts

Focus your attention into getting great AS grades, great A2 grades, lots of good quality work experience and ace your interview and UKCAT.
Reply 2
Original post by Nucleotide
As long as you've got your B grade in GCSE maths and English language you'll be fine. Just don't apply to GCSE heavy unis like bristol or birmingham. Go for the ones who don't look at GCSE e.g. Newcastle and Barts

Focus your attention into getting great AS grades, great A2 grades, lots of good quality work experience and ace your interview and UKCAT.

Ty.
From the exams I have done , I am pretty confident I can get an A in Geo and I got full UMS in C1(maths) just hope exams I am about to write are easy