The Student Room Group

2:2 degree in French and Spanish Career options

It looks as if I am about to graduate from university with an average of between 54 and 55%, which is a 2:2 (no extenuating circumstances). I genuinely tried my best. My degree is in Spanish and French. For my dissertation, I received a mark of 52%. For my final Spanish speaking exam, my mark was 68% (2 points off a First), and some pieces of translation and composition coursework were over 60%. Should I emphasise this on my CV? I also have a few other queries.
1. Would my fluency and language competence be questioned by employers? I have lived in France and Spain as part of my degree, and can communicate perfectly well and fluently with the people there.
2. If I was interested in moving into a TEFL career in Spain, would a 2:2 put off any potential employers. I have TEFL experience and a CELTA, arguably more importan than a degree classification.
3. How difficult would it be to gain entry to a Translation/Interpreting Masters Course, most of which ask for a high 2:2 or 2:1?
4. What other career options are open to me?
Reply 1
If I were you, I would look into working for an international company. There are jobs out there where a second or third language is preferred (in the languages you possess). Have you considered foreign diplomacy? I would look into an entry level position with the government. Have you considered looking for permanent work in France or Spain?
Reply 2
Original post by apple32
If I were you, I would look into working for an international company. There are jobs out there where a second or third language is preferred (in the languages you possess). Have you considered foreign diplomacy? I would look into an entry level position with the government. Have you considered looking for permanent work in France or Spain?

Thanks for your reply and suggestion, I will definitely look into foreign diplomacy. The only permanent work I've really considerate is TEFL work.