The Student Room Group
Studying in halls, University of Cambridge
University of Cambridge
Cambridge

Robinson College (Cambridge) Students and Applicants

Well. there isnt a thread in the Colleges section. so im starting one... any Robinsonites around? hopefuls or current students

Scroll to see replies

Yeah, I'm a third year music student. Happy to answer any of your questions.

MB
Studying in halls, University of Cambridge
University of Cambridge
Cambridge
Reply 2
Me too.
Reply 3
Jim Arnold
Yes. The college that's consistently bottom of the tables, nicknamed the car park, banned from having a drinking society, allegedly miles away (it's actually got nothing on Churchill, Homerton or Fitz) and is constantly on the verge of bankrupcy. That's us. At least the food is supposedly good. In reality the food follows the standard formula of "chewy meat + generic cheese".

I take it you don't like Robinson then? Providing I meet my offer I will hopefully being joining you at Robinson in October!
Jim Arnold
I go there, so of course I love it. It's ace. All the things I listed I'm proud of. Except the food. But I guess the cooks are stuck with what they're given.

We are not bottom of the table, we are slightly above the middle I think; for engineering last year we were 3rd out of them all. I've also never heard us be referred to as the car park...

Ah, Robinson Rentals. lol. Having a drinking society banned for (allegedly) trying to sink punts full of children is definately something to be proud of. Apparently one of the stash shops in town still sells the ties.

As far as food goes, I think it's generally quite good. But that's because my mum can't cook so I don't know what proper food tastes like. I have spoken to people from supposedly "better" colleges such as John's, who have been envious of things we have such as a make-your-own-baguette counter in our cafeteria.