The Student Room Group

Career advice

Hi guys,
I studied Network and IT Engineering and I took a CCNA course but I don't have any experience and all the jobs requires minimum 1 year experience, so is there any companies that provide training or volunteering jobs where I could gain some work experience in networking or IT?
Thanx in advance
Hi nad89,

If I was you i'd look for roles that are first line support. They are the lower end of the jobs in IT, and they tend to look for people with minimal or next to no experience, but some knowledge. This would be the ideal first IT job as it would give you experience fixing a range of issues that are simple and more complex.

Another alternative would be to volunteer your time or look for larger companies who offer you induction training into the company for roles that you would want to do.

Stephen
You say you took the CCNA course, do you just mean you completed the academy modules at uni/college or did you actually go and do the exam and therefore have the CCNA qualification?

If you haven't sat and passed the exam, it doesn't help you a whole lot as anyone can do the course, even though there are tests involved, but many fail the actual exam.

What did you study? Was it a college course like an HND, or do you have an undergraduate degree? If you're a graduate and passed well, there's lots of graduate schemes with various large names you could look at, ranging from BT to Mi5 and BAE Systems.

If you're not so fixated on the hardware side of networking, then you'll do a lot of networking type work in many sysadmin roles at smaller companies. Larger companies tend to silo these departments off - e.g. DBA, Network Operations, Development Operations etc. A smaller company might not pay as much when it comes to total package, however there's the potential to be exposed to a whole lot more in a shorter amount of time.