So this is my situation:

I achieved 9 GCSE's.

very enthusiastic about Computers

Built my first computer when i was 13 Years old

Started developing websites using HTML/CSS and javascript when i was 13/14

When i was 15 i started learning pascal programming language

Achieved a grade C in Mathematics at GCSE

16 years old I started learning Java

17 years old i started developing android mobile applications and currently have a part time job working for a mobile application company.

I also have experience with php forms and sql/mysql databases.

At the moment i'm studying Enterprise AS Level, Game Development BTEC and information and communication technology BTEC.

I would really want to study Computer Science at University but i'm afraid it would be too Mathematics based.

Would i benefit from taking a gap year and restudying Math's GCSE and getting an A? (When i put my mind to something i'm very focus and i believe an A wouldn't be too hard if i studied hard). or go straight to university and study computer science? After all, they'd teach me all the mathematics within the course. I'm currently looking at university which teach computer forensics within the computer science course.
(edited 8 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Do A-level maths, but be dedicated to it, if you find CS fun then building a foundation of maths allows you to go further into more fun aspects.
Reply 2
You need to understand A-Level Mathematics in order to study computer science at university - no way around it. The mathematics on a (good - at least top-50) computer science course will have mathematics that will tear you to shreds unless you have A-Level knowledge - GCSE mathematics knowledge is mostly irrelevant for this subject.