The Student Room Group

Importance of work experience when applying to a Masters (in Entrepreneurship)?

I'm a second year student planning to apply on November for a 2016 placement in top universities around the world for a MSc in Entrepreneurship (with Babson's MSM probably being my top choice).

Most of them state that they look for people with 0-2 years work experience, and although they prefer one letter of academic and professional recommendation, two academics are fine.

However they all ask for CVs and I am very concerned as I have had no internships or work experience so far. I have been part of various leadership roles in societies which is a plus but it is not the same, and the average work exp is something like 8 months in the classes I want.

Would you say an above-average GPA and GMAT applicant with leadership roles in extracurriculars would be severely disadvantaged due to lack of work experience/volunteering?

I'm concerned trying to cram significant work with GMAT studying and my final year (worth 60%) will end up being disastrous, and I'm not sure what to do as I have four months left before applications begin.
Reply 1