The Student Room Group

Sad & confused

I'm feeling confused.

I'm a retake student - almost finished year 12.

Last year I did very badly. This was due to 1) not putting everything into my work 2) extreme extreme problems at home
3) multiple severe health issues.

When I started this academic year; I put my life and soul into my work. I honestly stopped watching ALL TV; never gone out etc. I practically lived in my room, any time I wasn't working I was either feeling ill or talking about work with a deer friend who is also retaking the year. But this didn't last; though the impression that I gave to people from that, did.

Several teachers have spoken to me (some more than once) about how well I've been doing. This year's parents evening was the best I've ever had. I actually received a personal card from my tutor praising my hard work.

But here is where the confusion kicks in. I don't feel like I deserve any of this! I haven't put the amount of effort in that I should have. Despite failing last year I STILL have been procrastinating. I didn't do so many homeworks again this year but somehow it went unnoticed. I picked up a new AS this year too, but I've done NO work towards it at all. I 'get by' with common sense alone (it's not a demanding subject to be fair).

One of my teachers this year is known for being extremely tough and bitchy - but somehow she thinks I'm one of the smartest students, making comments etc. I won't deny that I don't love that. However, I can't shake the feeling that I'm a fake - like she made a mistake. I also feel like I've REALLY let her down because I couldn't finish half of that exam paper because I got a migraine half way through and couldn't think for deer life. But then I ask myself, why are they all thinking this??? I'm not trying to show off- if you think that then just leave; I'm merely trying to show you just how serious I am about feeling like a fake with evidence as to why that may be.