The Student Room Group

Community College Associate Degree

I am a UK citizen, but am planning on moving to San Diego with my boyfriend next year. He is American and was born and raised in San Diego.

I started studying a degree in Psychology and Counselling studies with the Open University, but then moved to China for work, at which point they informed me my course isn't available in China, which is the main reason for us leaving. I don't want to have to give up my studies as I want a career in counselling, so I am hoping to study Psychology in the States. However, I'm not made of money! My boyfriend suggested studying an associate degree at a community college for 2 years and then transferring to another uni, whether it be in the US or UK.

Does anyone have any experience with this, or has anyone been to community college in the US?
The academic level of students at a US community college is not that high. You should have no problem transferring to a 4-year school in the US. If you have good grades and scores from high school, you might be able to get into somewhere decent in the University of California system. It would be difficult to transfer to a top school. In the US, you will need a Masters to practice as a psychotherapist, so it is a ways to go. However, it is perfectly doable in the US starting at a community college.

UK programs are tightly structured and generally 3 years rather than 4 years in the US. I would expect you could get at most credit for 1 year with a 2 year associates degree, but I don't really know anything about that.
Reply 2
Original post by mathplustutornj