The Student Room Group

What do people think of female rugby players?

(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 1
They shouldn't play it. It's a men's sport. That doesn't mean they're not equal it just means they're different and rugby's not the right sport for them. Nowadays women being equal seems to mean that they do exactly the same things as men, which isn't right. Men and women are equal but most importantly they are also DIFFERENT.

Posted from TSR Mobile
makes them seem manly i guess
I'm 19 and I've been playing rugby since November. I had some misconceptions before I started playing due to stereotypes but was encouraged to play by my curriculum manager who thought I'd be good at it. I fell in love with the sport. If you want to play, then play. Most people don't care and you shouldn't worry about people's opinions.
Original post by 10001
They shouldn't play it. It's a men's sport. That doesn't mean they're not equal it just means they're different and rugby's not the right sport for them. Nowadays women being equal seems to mean that they do exactly the same things as men, which isn't right. Men and women are equal but most importantly they are also DIFFERENT.

Posted from TSR Mobile

Why isn't rugby the right sport for them? Because its contact?
Original post by 10001

Posted from TSR Mobile

Just because women may never play in the same way as men doesn't mean they should be banned from playing any form of it at all.
I personally am not up for breaking my neck but many of my female friends love it and the part they love the most is the roughness of it. Tag rugby is liked much...