The Student Room Group

choice of uni's abroad for an exchange

Hey guys i'm currently an undergrad at a UK university. I have the option of going on an exchange next year for a semester. The unis that i can go to are

1) University of British Columbia
2)McGill University
3)University of Virginia
4)University of Melbourne

could you guys help me out in deciding...i'm kinda leaning towards melbourne because i want to go to australia...or am i making the wrong choice??!!! your help would be appreciated!:confused:
Reply 1
Well, for one thing, what exactly do you want to get out of that term? I don't think people will be able to tell you whether you're making the wrong choice unless you specify what criteria you'll be basing your choice on...
Reply 2
a life changing experience...a fun place to go aswell as something totally different from the UK and also has to be a good uni and has a nice friendly environment
They are all really good schools, it just depends on what you are looking for.

I personally love UBC, but have heard good things about UVA and McGill.
Reply 4
is UVA well known? and can anyone give me pros and cons of goin to melbourne?why does everyone love UBC?
Reply 5
The university of Melbourne is regarded as one of Australia's top university, depending on which ranking you look at, it is the top university. One factor you might want to take into account when thinking about Melbourne, it's weather sometimes changes ridicously quickly. I myself experienced a temperature change of about 10 degrees in only a few days while I was there on a short vacation...
Reply 6
yeah i've heard 'four seasons in one day' i wish i was able to transfer to queensland! is the city upbeat or is it quite 'country' for someone coming from london?
Reply 7
o and btw i know everyone says the weather changes a lot...but how often is a lot?
Reply 8
I already wrote something in the US study forum about UVA and it sounds nice, but I don't know anyone who goes there.