The Student Room Group

Transferring University for a better chance in Investment Banking?

Hello. I'm studying a BSc in Mathematics with Finance and Economics at City University London. I've just finished my first year and I'm expecting to receive a 1st this year. I have received an offer to study at King's College London contingent upon achieving 65% this year. In addition to this I have just been successful in attaining a first year summer internship at State Street for Risk & Credit. Unfortunately, as my modules at City are different from King's, I will have to start again from scratch as a first year. Initially I chose to transfer because I thought that a RG, semi-target with prestige would be more likely to land me an internship at a BB whereas graduating from City may require me to complete an MMath and possibly a PhD to get a Front Office role at a Bulge Bracket. I was wondering what your thoughts were. Is it worth sacrificing a year? Is it pointless? I really hope somebody can help me.
Thanks guys!

Scroll to see replies

Have you tried possibly talking with UCL or Imperial about transferring to either? They would vastly increase your chances of getting a BB in comparison to King's.
Reply 2
I spoke to UCL and it was a no unless I improved my A-Levels. I achieved 5A*s and 6As at GCSE and kinda flunked A-Levels with BCCc in Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and PE respectively :/
I'd be wary about the A level requirements most banks hold, although I've heard some are taking those away to allow for equal access
Reply 4
I doubt Imperial would take me even if I resit and achieved A*A*Aa. I'm just worried about King's Vs City. I don't want to make a mistake and sacrifice a year for a nothing or sacrifice a 1st for a 2:2.
Stick it out at City get a 1st and do a Masters at another uni if you can afford it is my personal opinion. Speak to Noble about Maths at other uni's.
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 6