The Student Room Group

What is your preferred Operating System for development?

OS X, Windows or Linux?

What version do you prefer? I know if I didn't say this, there'd just be people who say Windows or Linux so that's why I'm asking people to be specific.

I'm currently really liking Xubuntu. I've been using Ubuntu quite often during my placement and eventually I decided to try and dual boot my laptop with Windows 7 on it and also Xubuntu.

I recently got my first gaming PC and just installed the Windows 10 preview edition (very nice, much better than 8 btw!) for gaming and Xubuntu for development.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
As long as I have my IDEs, I don't really care too much on the OS.
Hi there,

As a dev, I think you might want to have both (to test your program in different OSs).

But to answer your question, I will give you my insight from company hackathons that I have attended.
- Most employees from Pearson and Facebook uses MacOS (Maybe because of it's Unix nature)
- Windows are 2nd favorite (I am using windows)
- Have never seen anyone using Linux

Your decision mostly comes down from what Programming language and/or IDE are you using.

For example, C# and Visual Studio (definitely windows).
Definitely Linux, unless I'm doing something that's Windows-specific (C#, mainly...). My current dev environment is an Ubuntu/Fedora dualboot with GNU Emacs, but I keep Win7 on a spare hard drive to boot in to for gaming.
I use Linux for a couple of reasons: stability and speed (Windows is like a really drunk snail in that regard compared to Linux), accessibility of tools (I can run Python from the shell!), and sheer ease of development - working in the terminal is much easier than messing around in a GUI a lot of the time. I think once you set up a work environment that suits you, OS doesn't really matter, but I prefer Unix/BSD-based systems because I'm more comfortable working in them.
Reply 4