The Student Room Group

UK Big4 audit (Will I be stuck in audit??) or leave UK for banking/consultancy.

Hi, this is a long post, but just skip to the bolded question towards the end if you have no patience and time hahah.

Background: I'm an international student from Malaysia about to graduate and I currently have 2 job offers in hand:

1. Audit with a big 4 in the UK
2. A joint programme back in Malaysia with Accenture and CIMB (CIMB Group is an indigenous ASEAN investment bank, the largest Asia Pacific (ex-Japan) based investment bank and one of the world's largest Islamic banks - Wikipedia) for one year in Management Consultancy, then the second year in banking.

And I really don't know which one to go for.

1. On one hand, Big 4 audit in the UK is a great opportunity seeing it's been very difficult for international students to secure jobs here. Of course, it means I will need to do the ACA which I'm not too keen on, but it's paid for and I will get an extra qualification after 3 years which is something. But is audit something I want to do? I'm more interested in consultancy and banking to be honest, but then again I'm just a fresh graduate so I can't say I hate audit without even trying. I think I would like to stay in the UK, there's wide exposure, faster growth and opportunities, and hey, I managed to get a job in such a competitive market. In the long run when I do return to Pacific Asia, the international experience will definitely be strong in my favour.