The Student Room Group

Changing from Psychology to Mental Health Nursing - Advice?

Hi everyone, I really need some help!

I have an offer to study the Psychology Access course at Reading College this September. However, I've decided the better choice is to become a mental health nurse instead. They do offer a Mental Health Nursing Access at Reading College but I don't know how easy it would be to switch to that, or if it would even be the right decision for me. :s-smilie:

My biggest concern is that I would ideally like to work and gain experience while becoming qualified - how can I do this? Is there any way I could apply for low-level jobs in the NHS now that could help me work my way up to doing a nursing degree alongside my job in future? I've had 3 years experience working with young people and I don't really want to stop now!
Original post by aterax
Hi everyone, I really need some help!

I have an offer to study the Psychology Access course at Reading College this September. However, I've decided the better choice is to become a mental health nurse instead. They do offer a Mental Health Nursing Access at Reading College but I don't know how easy it would be to switch to that, or if it would even be the right decision for me. :s-smilie:

My biggest concern is that I would ideally like to work and gain experience while becoming qualified - how can I do this? Is there any way I could apply for low-level jobs in the NHS now that could help me work my way up to doing a nursing degree alongside my job in future? I've had 3 years experience working with young people and I don't really want to stop now!

i m really sorry but with the current system you have to go to uni and do the nursing degree full time, theres no way of working you re way up really. You can still work bank whilst you do your degree if you think that you can manage it but working full time isnt doable.