The Student Room Group

D2 or M3?

I'm studying A2 maths next year and have to chose between these two modules. I plan on studying computer science at university.

is D2 much easier than M3? I'm not one to take the easy way out but perhaps D2 may be more beneficial for my degree, although M3 could help with any potential STEP requirement.
Reply 1
Original post by Rabadon
I'm studying A2 maths next year and have to chose between these two modules. I plan on studying computer science at university.

is D2 much easier than M3? I'm not one to take the easy way out but perhaps D2 may be more beneficial for my degree, although M3 could help with any potential STEP requirement.

M3, don't do d2 unless you want to die of boredom. I'm sure a compsci degree is nothing like d2, and is instead more mathematical
Reply 2
The difference is makes to your degree, from choosing one module to another is largely insignificant and matters very little. The content missed from maths modules is usually picked up in your first few lectures anyway.

As far as I know, only Cambridge/Imperial/Oxford/Durham specifically request details on which modules you do, so if you don't apply to any of them, it really does not matter. Plus declaring your modules is optional, so they'll only know when you've done your exams.

Truth be told, D2 is MILES easier than M3 could ever be, to the point where I literally learnt all the content the weekend before the exam, and achieved over 90 ums. With D2 you can just go through exam papers, with M3 you have to actually have some understanding.

Advantages of M3 are that you may find it more fun to do, and you won't get elitists laughing at you for doing it. I personally didn't find D2 as boring as some people make it out to be.
Original post by Rabadon

Since you speak of step this makes me assume you speak of top universities sko M3 by that matter. I know that Oxbridge arent too keen of decision but ive never done it.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4