The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Secondary, staying at same school and doing my masters part time. 1 week of teaching left :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by pgce2013
Secondary, staying at same school and doing my masters part time. 1 week of teaching left :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile

I'm not even counting it as a week :tongue: 4 and a half days!!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Hey! I still have 4 teaching days and 3 school days where I can claim I'm an NQT and thus have an excuse for not knowing what I'm doing....

I applied for a couple of jobs this year to move schools - one replied saying they were no longer looking and one I just didn't get shortlisted for.

So I am staying another year - I'm a secondary English teacher.

There were a few months where I wanted to leave so badly (around February-April time) but I like some aspects of the school now but still there's a lot of issues I have - primarily with how behaviour is death with as a whole school - and I think unless something drastically changes I will be on the hunt to move next year as well.

Looking forward to starting again next year - I won't be teaching any 6th form this time which is disappointing but less workload when I think of the endless coursework drafts this year.

I'll have mixed ability year ten and eleven classes which will be very challenging. I'll be doing the old English GCSE specification with year 11 and the brand new one with year 10.

Year 9 will be a GCSE year for us now as well doing the new spec preparation.

My main worry is still behaviour management - whilst I think I've gotten better at it I'm still uncertain as to what is the best approach and I don't think I'm assertive enough as a person yet to fully master it with a lot of classes.
Hello :wavey: