The Student Room Group

How do we respond to and receive offers?

Hi everyone,

Sorry I'm really new to the entire subject of postgraduate study. I've only looked at a couple of Universities so far but they all seem to take applications online directly to the institution (so no need for UCAS or anything like we have with undergrad -which I sort of figured).

But that left me wondering - how do we reply and receive potential offers? Is it all via email? As in we'll receive emails telling us we have an offer and what the conditions are?
Furthermore I understand the offers will usually be conditional like it is with undergrad - well how do they receive your final year grades? I gather it isn't the same as alevels where they are automatically sent them? Is it our responsibility on results day to get back to the university that has given us offers and accept/send them over our grades?
Lastly can we apply to and accept as many universities as we want? Or is it like UCAS where you just have a firm and an insurance?

Sorry for possibly asking a really stupid question. Thanks in advance for the help!
Original post by Himeros

how do we reply and receive potential offers? Is it all via email? As in we'll receive emails telling us we have an offer and what the conditions are? Generally there will be an online application system (different for each uni) and offers will be made through that. You might get emails or you might have to log in to check.

Furthermore I understand the offers will usually be conditional like it is with undergrad - well how do they receive your final year grades? I gather it isn't the same as alevels where they are automatically sent them? Is it our responsibility on results day to get back to the university that has given us offers and accept/send them over our grades? Yep. Again the procedure will vary between unis but is likely to be explained during the application process